This may not be the best children’s picture book ever written, but it is certainly one of the most enduring. It is widely-known and fondly-remembered even by old crones like me. In fact, it is the only one I remember reading and enjoying from my own childhood.

It’s got everything – endearing pictures, different-shaped pages, pages with holes in and a lovely “surprise” ending. For those who like something educational, it even does numbers and days of the week… So, although not quite as fabulous as I remember, it is still pretty good – yes, it has withstood the test of time.

I noticed, while reminding myself how good this book is, a range of caterpillar-turns-butterfly (oops, sorry, just gave away the ending) stories in the picture book section. I suppose it must be something about the magic of transformation that captures both the adult’s and the child’s imagination. One of these books had the caterpillar sighing – “I wish I could fly, but I have no wings and I am too fat and heavy.” Chin up, little one, life gets better.

So, here’s an Amazon link.
I sneakily re-read it for free in Ottakers, using the baby as a diversion.

