Sophie's World And although I have seen nothing but black crows all my life, it doesn’t mean that there’s no such thing as a white crow. Both for a philosopher and for a scientist it can be important not to reject the possibility of finding a white crow. You might almost say that hunting for “the white crow” is science’s principal task… One of the main concerns of philosophy is to warn people against jumping to conclusions.”

Sophie Amundsen is a Norwegian girl about to turn 15. Or is she?One day her world – Sophie’s World – is turned upside down, or perhaps created, when she starts to get letters from an unknown philosopher, a short correspondence course in philosophy, from the ancient Greeks on up. As the course progresses, and the thoughts of great thinkers from across the ages are set out before her, other things start to happen too. Unexplained things. And it all has something to do with Berkeley.

(Happy Birthday Hilde!)

This may seem like an odd sort of a review. It’s probably romantic irony turning my own thoughts upside down. However, the one clear gem of a thought at the bottom of this is that if you are an intelligent, reading teenager you will assuredly love this book. Even a dull old grown-up like me can get a good deal from it, as long as I remember to keep a wry smile in the middle of my head that reminds me it isn’t a proper philosophy course, because it’s really rather silly.

It does, at times, feel like an extended lecture instead of a story – but it’ll be OK, just keep your brain switched on, and pretend you are in the sixth form again. (Forget Terry Pratchett, this is the good stuff.)

Here is an Amazon link.
I got a copy for 50p at a book fair – and I’m glad I did because I think I will read it again. So will Baby M, I hope, when she is about fourteen or fifteen herself…

